Sue Haffner sueh@csufresno.edu
Wed, 11 Apr 2012 16:26:40 PDT
I hadn't heard anything about this, so did some online checking. 
The U.S. Senate ratified the U.S.-U.S.S.R. Maritime Boundary Treaty in 1991. 
It was signed by President George H.W. Bush. The transfer of the islands is a 
consequence of this treaty, apparently. 

Sue Haffner 
Clovis CA 

----- Original Message -----
From: "Douglas Westfall" <eagle.85@verizon.net> 
To: "Carolyn & Tris" <swansnest2@verizon.net>, "Jef Hedwall" <jef@uplandlighting.com>, "Steve Brown" <steve@sepiaproductions.com>, "Dylan Hannon" <othonna@gmail.com>, "Carleda Hutton" <hutton00@gmail.com>, "Marvin Keener" <marv@keenermarketing.net>, "HAZEL MAE" <momwill63@yahoo.com>, "Dr. Don Smith" <dhsmith@csulb.edu>, "Greg Smith" <gregory.h.smith@sbcglobal.net>, "Pacific Bulb Society" <pbs@lists.ibiblio.org>, "David Sundstrom" <d.sundstrom@verizon.net> 
Sent: Wednesday, April 11, 2012 3:16:38 PM 
Subject: [pbs] Fwd: U.S. LAND GIVE AWAY 

Begin forwarded message: 

> From: Judies <judies@sbcglobal.net> 
> Date: April 11, 2012 2:59:42 PM PDT 
> Subject: U.S. LAND GIVE AWAY 
>>> Are you aware that the president is going to sign over eight 
>>> islands in 
>>> the Bering Sea that are currently part of Alaska? One was 
>>> discovered by Mr. Muir, the founder of the Sierra Club. 
>>> Now the administration that will not let us drill for oil there to 
>>> save 
>>> the environment is going to give away this U.S. territory for free. 
>>> What do you think Russia will do? Drill for oil? Known reserves are 
>>> there. Fishing rights and territorial waters gone; a free give 
>>> away and 
>>> not a word in the traditional news Nothing is as simple as it 
>>> seems but 
>>> why no discussion? No gold, no concessions of any kind? 
>>> Just search Obama and Alaska Islands and see for yourself. Seems an 
>>> egregious abuse of executive power again. If you care; contact your 
>>> Representative and the media. 
>>> http://worldnewstribune.com/2012/02/… 

pbs mailing list 

More information about the pbs mailing list