Escaping - Nothing new

Started by petershaw, April 04, 2023, 07:23:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

petershaw

The thread about Oxalis pes-caprae  reminds me that "we" have a long history of thinking that a cool plant from somewhere else is going to play nice in our garden. I grew O. megalorrhiza 45 years ago in my quest for caudiciforms and gave a few plants to a friend at the local college botany greenhouse, returned 30+ years later and my gift had become a resident in almost every pot.

In California we have seen plants from the southern hemisphere take over large areas of our landscapes, some of the Eucalyptus and Acacias for example. This is not to bash SH plants, as our well loved Liquidambar has turned into a big mistake as a street or landscape tree in CA.

Where am I going with this? I'm pretty new to exotic bulb collecting and want to be sure I don't do this to my landscape. I love Sparaxis, but not like this. (Okay, I love walking past this on my daily walks)

IMG_2423.jpg

Visiting the UCSC arboretum yesterday I came across a gladiolus that was going to town.. Beautiful but again, I dont want to be weeding too much any longer (late 60's), listed as G. tristis 'Moonlight' but wrong color. I think this plant was a volunteer that liked the label.

IMG_2437.jpg

I am just hoping that the ones I want are going to be tame. 

Peter

Uli

Hello Peter,

Probably all of us do not want to introduce a new weed to our garden or the landscape. 

This can always happen as an accident but most of it can be avoided by careful observation of new plants and quick, consequent action in case of doubt. If lots of unwanted seedlings appear, they can still be removed before they flower or when they flower, before seeding themselves again. Careful disposal is important in that case. Or if a rhizomatous plant wants to turn up everywhere. This has happened to me with an unnamed Tradescantia and with Ruellia simplex or some varieties of mint.