Martin aka plain, simple Garak

Started by Martin Bohnet, January 06, 2022, 03:28:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Martin Bohnet

This is mostly a copy of my wiki contributor page, with a few updates here and there, but, as I'm still myself, most is still true... and after introduction, there may be a few showcase follow ups here and there...

I'm a chemical engineer from Göppingen, southern Germany, so obviously all my botanical and gardening ambitions are those of an (enthusiastic) amateur. But when my degree program called for a non-technical minor subject, I "wasted" this on "vegetation zones of the earth", so I can (and do) read scientific botanical literature without getting major headaches. Unfortunately, my daytime job causes most of my botanical projects to proceed slowly.

My far too little suburban garden bears nearly no traces of the boring setup of the previous owner (mostly lawn and thuja hedges), but the studio of a stone mason (said previous owner) still serves me as a shelter for my plants, cutting off high and low extremes, with some additional help from an electrical heater whenever outside daily averages drop below zero (European Engineer - I don't have to add what temperature scale I use, don't I?). Image one shows how small it really is, via Google maps (red square's the border of my kingdom, green square the frost free shelter). And it's not only me and my plants, but also my long term partner and my two cats living there...

In my plantings, I seem to have a soft spot for Iridaceae in general and tribus Tigridieae in particular, but have ongoing experiments with some Amaryllidaceae, Alstroemerias, Kniphofias, terrestrial orchids, a small bog and many other as well, often trying to push hardiness limits. One of the pictures shows off some of the monocots I have flowered - doesn't mean they're all still alive, though...