Telos rare bulbs purchases

Started by Selvam, February 18, 2024, 08:35:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Selvam

Hello folks, I'm a noob to geophytes, my interest in bulbs started when I started gardening with California natives. When browsing for bulbs online, Telos rare bulbs come in to picture, however there aren't much in stock. Has anyone had success purchasing bulbs there? When do they have bulbs in stock?.

Thanks. 

Robert_Parks

Quote from: Selvam on February 18, 2024, 08:35:21 AMHello folks, I'm a noob to geophytes, my interest in bulbs started when I started gardening with California natives. When browsing for bulbs online, Telos rare bulbs come in to picture, however there aren't much in stock. Has anyone had success purchasing bulbs there? When do they have bulbs in stock?.
Mediterranean climate bulbs are in full growth now, so the nurseries don't even know what the stock will be when they go dormant (actually like the commercial bulb industry[1]), orders usually made in the spring for summer/fall delivery. The only exception are (mostly Amaryllids) bulbs with perennial roots that are shipped year 'round.

Just check back regularly for changes in stock.

And, once your desired bulbs can be ordered, you'll be happy with the eventual result. Stuff you can't get anywhere else without the gamble of eBay or the PBS bulb exchange!

Robert
in rainy soggy San Francisco

Lee Poulsen

Yes, Diana (Telos Bulbs owner) told me that when things are in growth, they are listed as out of stock on the website. So winter growers are all out of stock right now (except for some of the Amaryllis family bulbs as Robert mentioned). They're dormant in the (northern) summer, so that's when you can order them. Summer growers are dormant now, so whatever Telos still has stock of can be ordered now. Although it's better to check earlier during each dormant season before that season's stock sells out.