Jim McKenney
Sun, 30 Oct 2005 18:28:43 PST
OK, one more saffron post. 

The saffron series of crocuses, as given by Mathew, includes eight species:
pallasii, C. thomasii, C. cartwrightianus, C. sativus, C. moabiticus, C.
oreocreticus, C asumaniae and C. hadriaticus. 

In the last two years, Jane McGary has offered all of these except for C.
moabiticus and the widely available C. sativus. 

Thanks to Jane, all of these except C. moabiticus have bloomed in my garden.

Jim McKenney
Montgomery County, Maryland, USA, USDA zone 7, where Crocus asumaniae and C.
pallasii, among others, are now in bloom. 

More information about the pbs mailing list